Ladies, How To Welcome A Man Home

“He’s home!  He’s home!  He’s home!”  My favorite part of each day takes place between 6:30 to 7:00 PM every night.  That is when the garage door goes up, the car pulls in, and I walk in the door arriving home from a hard but productive day at work.  It has become our family tradition that when I arrive, my wife and daughter shout those six wonderful words in unison.  There are then hugs and kisses and a general mini-celebration.  I love my job but I also love coming home!

Hollywood experts tell us the initial scene of any movie is critical.  The opening scene creates conflict.  Man against man; Man against nature; or Man against himself.  The opening act sets the stage for the rest of the movie.  When a man arrives home, how he is welcomed sets the stage for the rest of the evening.

The following is what I experience and feel because of how my wife and daughter welcome me home every evening:

  1. Confidence – The level of a man’s performance is in direct proportion to his wife’s confidence in him.  They make me feel so valued and important that I feel I can accomplish almost anything.
  2. Encouragement – Whatever redeemable qualities I have as a husband and father are reinforced and their attitude compels me to build on those qualities and be the best leader that I possibly can.
  3. Perspective – This life is joyful but it’s also hard.  There are days we all have that we’re simply glad when they’re over.  When those days occur, their loving attitude allows proper balance and perspective to return.
  4. Positive Attitude – Many times at night, there are issues we have to deal with.  Whether it’s a phone call received earlier in the day, unwelcome mail, or the challenges of doing homework with my daughter who would rather watch Hannah Montana, I am now able to address those items with a more positive attitude.
  5. Increased Generosity – There is nothing I wouldn’t do for my family.  Their response to my efforts simply makes me want to serve them more and give them everything I can.  Their response to my leadership moves me from my natural default mode of greed to one of generosity.

I know what many women may be thinking right now.  This post is unrealistic because they are not shouting “He’s home” when their husband arrives.  They do not view their husband as the man in the picture above.  Here’s my advice, don’t let someone else’s performance or character determines your’s.  

Men are naturally insecure.  That’s a big secret about men but it’s true.  Men want to be heroes but are deathly afraid of failure, not measuring up, and not providing.  This is in our DNA from Adam and the Garden.  Treat him like the knight in shining armor he desperately wants to be and I guarantee that many times he will then become one.

To continue getting leadership insights, please click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

10 Responses to “Ladies, How To Welcome A Man Home”

  1. Head and heart take two directions with this one, Brian. Heart smiled broadly at the “Our Lord of the manner is Home!!” Then I realized–head stuff–that ’tis seldom true that dads/husbands get (or deserve) the Brady Bunch welcome. We men have not done all that well, historically or biblically, at raising up the youngins. We work hard to provide, sometime too hard for too much. We have significance to acheive, but it is often for and with those outside the home.

    Heart’s smile returned a wee bit when I recognized that soninlaw as hero of the home is emerging, but not with out careful, intentional structuring the life of providing and significance to include the home front as the primary platform for the legacy he hopes to leave. Intentional involvement by grandfathers can help immensely in climbing this steep hill if allowed–and willing.

    • Gary,

      I completely agree with your assessment. I also checked out your website and thank you for everything you’re doing to impact the lives of men.

      The comment you made about the impact of grandfathers is compelling. Multi-generational leadership and its impact is a resource that is being tapped into in a completely insufficient manner.

      I love your thoughts on family leadership and appreciate what you’re doing. Keep up the great work!

      Brian

  2. qadvocate RT @BrianKDodd: Ladies, Here’s How To Welcome A Man Home http://wp.me/pVReH-bq <Insightful-mine is "Daddy's Home!" followed by a running 6YO

  3. Brian,

    This is really good stuff. I have a passion for men and their hearts as well. Well done.

    Alan Wildes

  4. Lov the post I LOVE screaming
    He’s home!!! He’s home!!!
    Lov u

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feeling Welcome at Home: More on Marriage Leadership | Husband to my Wife - 05/26/2011

    […] the web, I found this post about wives and families welcoming home their husbands and fathers. It rang true to me, I have no […]

  2. Top 10 Most Popular Posts of August 2010 « Brian Dodd On Leadership - 09/01/2010

    […] of my postings as a Guest Blog on his site, http://www.tonymorganlive.com.  To read that article, click here.  Tony is a must-read for anyone in leadership and if you haven’t subscribed to his blog, […]

  3. 10 Things Every Husband Wants To Hear « Brian Dodd On Leadership - 08/16/2010

    […] “He’s home! He’s home! He’s home!” – For more information on this, read Ladies, How To Welcome A Man Home by clicking here. […]

  4. 4 Leadership Lessons From Ramona and Beezus « Brian Dodd On Leadership - 08/09/2010

    […] The Role of a Father – The first thing I noticed about the movie is how the Quimby family reacts when the father played by John Corbett arrives home from work.  There is genuine excitement as Ramona (played by Joey King) has a tradition in which she places her hands and face against the window as she gets a similar response from her dad.  There should be an escalation of energy and excitement when the husband and father arrives home.  For more information on how to make this become reality, click here. […]

Leave a Reply

