A Wonderful Leadership Surprise

Precept Ministries, led by Jack and Kay Arthur, has been an incredible blessing to my family and we have been privileged to financially support their efforts for many years.  Yesterday we were visiting their campus in Chattanooga, TN and we received a wonderful leadeship surprise.

My daughter and I took a walk alongside a creek on their property.  I showed her the exact spot where her mother and I sat down and asked God what level of financial support we should give to the ministry.  Then I told her that I wrote the largest check I have written to date and I couldn’t have been happier.  It was a wonderful time to make a lasting impact in her life in the area of generosity.

We then walked back into their main facility and began to wait for my wife.  It was then that a wonderful surprise took place.  Jack Arthur walked up and began talking to us!  I often start each day by asking God to “wonderfully surprise me today” but the 30 minutes with this spiritual giant was a little extra.

Jack is now in his 80s but he has made an impact in his life like few others.  He told us the stories of being a missionary in Nigeria, killing cobras, pythons, his family, and the history of Precept Ministries.

One of my favorite stories he tells is when Precept almost ceased to exist.  Their facility is actually located on a farm.  They had enough financial resources to last through the end of a month.  The leadership had asked God to intervene and if He didn’t, then they would go into the parking lot, hold hands, sing a praise song, and simply asked what He had for them to do next. 

Because they were on a farm, they owned horses.  As the end of the month was approaching, a storm came through, lightning struck and killed a horse.  The insurance money from the death of the horse allowed them to continue operations and the rest is history.  Today, they are one of the few 501C3 ministries operating in the black.

Jack and Kay are incredible people and the impact of their leadership will be felt for eternity.  The main compliment that I can give them is I think they love Jesus more than any two people I’ve ever met.  The leadership principles we all can take from them are the following:

  1. They have a single focus.  The Word of God.
  2. They have a HUGE vision.  Their ministry has worldwide impact.
  3. They change with the times.  Precept has started easy-to-use 40 minute studies.
  4. They honor those that make their operation possible.  They go out of their way to say “Thank You”.
  5. They love people.  They give their time.

This was a wonderful leadership surprise for my family.  I hope my daughter will one day understand what a privilege it was for her to meet Jack Arthur.  I know her mother and I will constantly remind her.

Have you had a wonderful leadership surprise lately?

For future leadership insights, please subscribe to this post or click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

14 Responses to “A Wonderful Leadership Surprise”

  1. Brian, Thank you for sharing your “wonderful surprise” with us. Today, I can sing “Amazing Grace” with a new heart because I was invited to a Precept Upon Precept Bible study twelve years ago and I now lead Precept classes. God has blessed Kay and Jack because they know that when you get the Word of God in the people of God, our Lord is faithful to do the rest!

  2. I have been so blessed by this ministry & teaching all around the nation for 20 years. So many have seen the genuine faith of Kay & Jack – what an inspiration they are! Kathy McGrath kathleenmcgrath@msn.com

  3. Wow, what an incredible story for you and your daughter.

    On my first visit on the Precept campus in was for a You Go Girl conference. I was amazed at the campus, only seeing the outside buildings and touring a bit about the inside. BUT, when I went a few year’s later to do a training session, I saw family love as the body of Christ and it began in Jack and Kay. What I mean to say is this, they were on campus visiting with those who had come to training. I was amazed to see them sit at our tables, eat, tell stories, love on people and laugh with us. Family love from the Father above sharing generously with others what God has graciously poured into them. This gracious love flow’s through all that are on campus and it comes from leadership who have experienced God intimately.

    We were laid off from a job three years ago but God blessed us with a wonderful lay off package! We could not wait to give to Precept! About a week later I was on the campus of Rogers State University checking my missed calls between class, and by gum I missed a call from Jack! Shoot!! I had tears in my eye’s listening to him on the other end.

    Thank you Mr. Dodd for sharing your story. It has once again reminded me why I love Precept ministry, staff and what God has called them too.

  4. I shudder to think where I would be without this ministry 25 years ago when I came to Christ. Kay and her Precept leader, Jeanne Reaves, literally “raised” me. Now I am in the prison with Precept leading incarcerated women and my daughter is in Australia following Precepts for Life online. Praise God for their steadfastness and unwavering commitment.

  5. Brian thanks for sharing this it is truly a blessing to all who read it. They are both such godly examples of leadership, love them both.

  6. Brian,
    I am Jack’s youngest son, David. I was so proud of my Dad reading this. Thank you for the kind words and support of the ministry.
    God bless you Brother,
    David Arthur

    • David,

      I’m so glad I you commented. It’s been awhile seen I read that post from September. Your dad was so gracious to us that day.

      We sent Kay a card on Mother’s Day. I hope she was blessed by that day. Also, we are honored to be part of the E-Team. The check is in the mail-:)

      Thanks again and I’m glad you were blessed by the post.

      Brian

  7. I don’t want that to be lost on you, but here are the most vital points to learn when it is linked to.

  8. gonna send this to my mom

    • Great and thanks for your note. She must study Precept. I hope she enjoys it. Brian

      • Marissa, Leah, & JennaFaye Reply 07/01/2011 at 6:01 PM

        My girls and I have been studying at Precept for two school years now. (Summers off) We have gleaned so much of God’s Word using this method. I look forward to taking the NT and OT overview courses in the future. I can not express my gratitude enough for this ministry. May God richly bless the staff and the Arthurs for their dedication to sharing God’s Word across the globe.

  9. dougbachelor RT @briankdodd: A Wonderful #Leadership Surprise: http://wp.me/pVReH-rS is a great read for #pastors, #parents, #church, #Bible, #economy…

  10. Brian–Quick clarification-do they operate in the red, or in the black?

Leave a Reply

