10 Reasons Why Desperation Can Be Your Best Friend

Are you desperate right now?  Are you running out of time?  Are you out of options?  Are you scared?  If the answers to these questions is “Yes”, then take comfort.  We’ve all been there.

Desperation has gotten a bad name.  Too often we associate desperation with the negative feelings mentioned above.  While that can be true, I have also discovered that desperation when leveraged properly in my life can be my best friend as a leader.  Desperation can be a tool that helps me reach my full potential.

This is counter-intuitive to how we’ve been taught but read the following list and see if you might look at desperation differently.

The benefits of desperation are the following:

  1. Desperation reminds me of my inadequacies which forces me to rely on God more.
  2. Desperation gives birth to creativity allowing solutions to be found.
  3. Desperation requires me to slow down and think rather than react.
  4. Desperation reminds us of the need for quality leadership.
  5. Desperation cultivates a grateful spirit by reminding me of the good times.
  6. Desperation allows you to take advantage of your teammates’ skill and expertise.
  7. Desperation forces us to work harder and smarter.
  8. Desperation compels me to improve and get better at my assignments.
  9. Desperation is proof that success does not all fall solely on my shoulders.
  10. Desperation allows God to work in my life which brings Him glory.

I hope this list brings you some comfort and encouragement.  How do you view desperation?

To receive future posts automatically, simply subscribe or click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

8 Responses to “10 Reasons Why Desperation Can Be Your Best Friend”

  1. Thank you for the very handy list! I agree with the points, particularly 1 & 10. Indeed, often in desperate times, one racks their brains to come up with efficient solution, forgetting the very presence and strength of the God whom we believe in. I’ve found such times, which I term as ‘walks in the wilderness’, to have been particularly defining moments, enabling me to identify my strengths and weaknesses and making me depend on God.

  2. PastorChannel RT @BrianKDodd 10 Reasons Why Desperation Can Be Your Best Friend: http://wp.me/pVReH-Ma is a must read for anyone going thru a tough time.

  3. digitalecurator @BrianKDodd ‘Desperation can be a tool that helps me reach my full potential’ http://bit.ly/gekbFG

  4. I like Brian’s list because it reminds us that even at our best, when we have done all we know to do, the live-giving spark still must come from God, much like Elijah’s bold initiative and faith at Mt. Carmel still required the fire from heaven. Let it fall.

  5. Oh, man. This is such a great post! Everyone in ministry leadership needs to read it. Burnout is so much more a reality when we shy away from desperation.

    I love your phrase, “1.Desperation reminds me of my inadequacies which forces me to rely on God more.” This is the posture of someone serving strong.

    • Scott,

      Thank you for the kind words. Burnout is something we all face. Hopefully words from people like you and me can help those in ministry through the difficult times.

      Blessings my friend,
      Brian

Leave a Reply

