Keep Your Hands Off My Daughter!

People just do not understand how daddies feel about their little girls.  Therefore, I going to help provide some insight into that area.

Before I begin, it is important for you to remember that I was once a 12-year old boy, 16-year old teenager, and 21-year old man.  I know exactly what guys are thinking at that age.  Therefore, don’t try to fool me or sanitize your thoughts.  Been there, done that myself.

Many parents think when their young teenage boys hug girls, hold hands, or give a quick kiss, that “it’s cute” or “isn’t that sweet?” or “they’re just kids” or “he’s a ladies man.”  Let me tell you what the girl’s father thinks – Keep Your Hands Off My Daughter!

You see, I am trying to raise a girl with a pure heart.  A girl who honors God in every area of her life.  A girl who has a healthy respect for her sexuality.  A girl who can achieve things and win the favor of others with her mind and personality, not just her body.  A girl who understands her body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, not a playground for testorone-filled young males.  A girl who a guy will be proud to marry one day.  

If that is what I’m trying to achieve as a dad, how do you think I feel if your son, who you think is “cute”, is trying to put his arm around my 12-year old daughter at a movie?  How do you think I feel about frontal hugs?  And how do you think I feel about someone trying to kiss her?

Just so we can properly level-set.  My daughter is not a tool for you to discover manhood, feel cool, or meet your physical desires.  She is my daughter.  And if a young boy treats her great and with respect, I will treat him great and with respect.  If you value what I value, I will treat you like pure gold.

Many parents out there don’t feel like I do.  All anyone has to do is visit a mall or movie theatre to know that.  The reality is that your teenage son is going to have a lot of options.  But I pray my daughter isn’t one of them. 

Parents, please raise your boys right.  Don’t make me or other dads who want to protect their little girls as long as possible to have to do that for you.  Because we will if we have to.

To make your voice heard as a leader, click The Leadership Tribe link.

To automatically receive future posts on leadership, simply subscribe or click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

7 Responses to “Keep Your Hands Off My Daughter!”

  1. Brian
    Start the Mantra the minute you see a sonogram confirmation of gender. Speak to the unborn female fetus saying, “Boys are bad, boys are bad, boys are bad!”

    Another issue I have is with the well meaning church lady who says to me (a Pastor and parent with two beautiful young godly women). “Pastor pray that my prison dewelling son would meet a good godly young girl like your daughter.” That church women needs deliverance.
    Thanks for a resonating blog.
    jdd
    PS Real men teach their daughters to shoot!

  2. I’m a single mom of 4: 2 girls (19 and 18) and 2 boys (11 and 7). Now as a gal who grew up with no limitations per se, and now being a believer, I have a completely different view from my teenage years. My girls have never dated. That is their choice. We talked about it while they were younger and then as teenagers, and now. It was so important while they were young to have high (reachable) standards so that it was the norm for them.

    Now as a mom, and being used by guys as a teen, my expectations of my boys are exactly what you’re looking for. My 11yo asks why he can’t date because so many of his friends “date” (so unbelievable). He asked if he can date at 16 and I told him it’s not a right to date at 16, it’s a privilege. There are a lot of requirements that will come with “dating” at that age: is he responsible, what’s his character, etc. With my boys I’m trying to teach them about respecting women and girls. At church, the men at AWANA have made it so the girls go into the teaching time before the boys and the boys hold the doors for all of us! It’s wonderful.

    Not easy as a single mom, but totally doable by the grace of God!

    • Mimi,

      Thank you for your words and all you’re doing as a single mom. Keep up the great work! Also, my daughter went through AWANA and it is a great program. It sounds like your boys are learning some great things in that ministry.

      Thanks again for your comments.

      Brian

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unapologetic Overprotective Dad on the Loose « Modesty: The Forgotten Virtue - 03/31/2011

    […] is and she can recognize immodesty for that reason.  My boys are going to be brought up to “keep their hands to themselves” until the time that God provides the other half to complete them, flesh of their flesh and bone […]

  2. Unapologetic Overprotective Dad on the Loose « Jeofurry's Jesus Journey - 03/28/2011

    […] modesty is and she can recognize immodesty for that reason.  My boys are going to be brought up to “keep their hands to themselves” until the time that God provides the other half to complete them, flesh of their flesh and […]

  3. Keep Your Hands - 03/27/2011

    […] Keep Your Hands Off My Daughter! | Brian Dodd On Leadership Many parents think when their young teenage boys hug girls, hold hands or give a quick kiss, that “it's cute” or “isn't that sweet?” or “they're just kids” or “he's a ladies man.” Let me tell you what the girl's father thinks – Keep […]

  4. Keep Your Hands Off My Daughter! (via Brian Dodd On Leadership) « Paul Hanon - 03/26/2011

    […] People just do not understand how daddies feel about their little girls.  Therefore, I going to help provide some insight into that area. Before I begin, it is important for you to remember that I was once a 12-year old boy, 16-year old teenager, and 21-year old man.  I know exactly what guys are thinking at that age.  Therefore, don't try to fool me or sanitize your thoughts.  Been there, done that myself. Many parents think when their young tee … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

