10 Most Popular Posts Of May 2011

May was an incredible month!!!  Other than January 2011 when Rick Warren forwarded one of my posts (and we know what that can do for any blogger), this has been the most successful month for this site.  “Thank You” to all who took the time to read and comment on these posts.

I have probably enjoyed writing this collection of posts more than any other.  I’m glad that it appears you enjoyed them as well.  Here are the Top 10 for May as determined by you the readers.

  1. 50 John Maxwell, Seth Godin, and Dave Ramsey Leadership Quotes From The Chick-Fil-A Leadercast
  2. Maxim’s Top 100 Hottest Women List Is Missing One Notable Individual
  3. The Top 10 Christian Leadership Blogs You Should Be Reading *Note – if you haven’t seen this list, please check them out.
  4. The Top 10 Characteristics Of A Generous Church – To watch me teaching the first five characteristics, click here.
  5. 20 Leadership Lessons On Building A Dream Team: A Case Study Of LeBron James And The Miami Heat
  6. 10 Leadership Skills Of America’s Top 10 Favorite Bosses
  7. Is A Squirrel Dying In Your Front Yard More Important Than People Dying In Africa?
  8. Leaders, Is It Important That Your Team Likes You?
  9. The One Thing Every Leader Must Do
  10. What Keeps Coke CEO Muhtar Kent Awake At Night

The following are four additional posts that didn’t make the Top 10 but are some of my all-time favorites.  I hope you enjoy them the second time around.  

  1. Leadership Lessons From My Grandmother’s Funeral
  2. An African-American Pastor, A White Church, And A Growing Latino Population Have Come Together
  3. 12 Quotes And Church Growth Lessons From Alison Levine Who Climbed Mount Everest – Check out comments on this one.  We got some insights frm Alison herself!
  4. What Sport Clips Teaches Us About Men And Church Attendance

I love getting to spotlight other websites.  I want to thank these two sites for their support and sending me a lot of traffic last month.

Once again, thank you for visiting this site.  Your time is extremely valuable and the fact you would give up some of it to read these thoughts humbles me.  I look forward to you returning in June and feel free to comment on anything you read.

To make your voice heard as a leader, click The Leadership Tribe link.

To automatically receive future posts on leadership, simply subscribe or click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

2 Responses to “10 Most Popular Posts Of May 2011”

  1. Dear Brother Dodd, can I ask you to read this letter , of which I have sent scores of around the world to Churches Mega and small. Not even one had the Grace to respond either negatively or encouragingly. Yet we are supposed to help one another as well as try and win souls for The Master. PLease read this and enlighten me to what I have said that is so wrong. I can understand fully now, why folk regard most “Christians” as selfseeking do-gooders.
    From: David Glass d.glass7@yahoo.co.uk

    Subject: Church Closure

    Dear Pastor, my name is David Glass and I am the Pastor of Rathcoole Pentecostal Church 14 Old Irish Highway Newtownabbey. Co. Antrim Northern Ireland, but for any corresponbence could you please send by my email d.glass7@yahoo.co.uk or to my home address 11b Ardmillan Drive, Newtownabbey. BT37 9AZ Co. Antrim. Northern Ireland. You’ll understand in a moment if you continue reading.I would like to ask you to please PRAY for my daughter FIRST. who is Deborah Wurster, 42 Riggs Road, Fredericksburg. 22405 V A. Just over 2 years ago Debbie took Breast Cancer and had10 mths. Chemo and then 30 sessions of Radiation. But in Feb. 2010 she flew home here to take me to Hospital for a gall=bladder removal. Visited me every day and brought me home again and then flew back to the States. and even that night she had to sleep on the floor in Heathrow Airport because of 3 feet of snow back home. She went for more scans and was told the cancer had Masticised to her bones and her liver. Shortly after that her husband Ed’s Dad died in Ohio and they drove up on the Friday for the Sat. funeral. They stayed overnight in a hotel and the next morning Debbie went for a shower and there were no handrails or mats on the floor. So she carefully tried to get across to the shower and she slid and hit her thigh on the tub and snapped her femur. So she spent the next few weeks in Hospital there and had to get a Titanium rod inserted into her thigh. I spoke to her by phone last Monday and she told me the last scan she had says she has a new spot on her liver and L4 spine, whatever that means.Yet she STILL trusts and believes in God, I don’t know about you but I feel tremendously proud of her and the Faith she has. Amen? Please x2 pray hard for her, and if anyone would like to encourage her, her email is debs0968@yahoo.com And please pray for our little Church here. My wife Molly and I planted it 21 years ago in a Housing Estate in Rathcoole Newtownabbey which is Infamous for drugs, alcoholism, racketeering Knee-capping and all oversaw by the Para-militaries. Now over the years we have been broken into several times, the place trashed, set on fire , the guttering and downpipes renenewed at least 40 times, etc,. etc. Don’t say go to the police, they are unable to do anything. But we carried on because we believed God put us there. my late wife Molly had a great love and desire for the kids in the area.They had no role models except for the Para-militaries who were merciless. Living in Rathcoole was like living in a 3rd world country. Some years ago we started up a playgroup for the 3-5 yr. olds and my daughter Sandra who lives here ran it and all we charged was £1.50 per day. That was just to cover the 2 meals we gave them every day and the cost of heating and lighting. Well, there was 28 children, but only about 5 mothers paid at any time, but we kept it going for almost 5 years, then we couldn’t afford to keep it going and had to close it down. I tried every Government department I could think of, and the Lottery Board as well, but all to no avail. Now at least 4 of those wee boys who came to us at 3years of age are dead and gone because even before they reached their teens they had already been sucked in the drugtaking. That makes me mad, but we tried to make a difference. I left the Methodist Church to do this.But praise God over the years many did get saved and set free. Many were healed even of cancer, yet my own lovely wife Molly died 5 1/2 years ago with bone cancer. Yet 15 years prior to that The Lord healed her from Lymphoma Cancer so we never ever thought she would ever suffer form cancer again. But I never in my life had a wage from the little Church, mostly because everything was needed to keep it going and it is in a very depressed poverty stricken area anyway, and I had to drive a taxicab at night in Belfast all through the time of the “TROUBLES” here to bring a wage into our own home. But we enjoyed the work tremendously and we dedicated children that were never brought back to the church. Buried folk that the mainstream churches wouldn’t bury because they didn’t attend or pay anything into the churches.(The mainstrean Churches in the area, sad to say didn’t agree with what the Saviour taught.) If He was unthanked or ignored, I certainly am no better than Him. But HE ALWAYS had compassion on the people. Amen ! So, to cut a very(which I apologise for) long story short. When I went up on a few Sundays past to open up, the local Housing Authority had put a large steel door to cover the Church door to prevent us getting in. Boy, I didn’t see that coming. So when I went down to ask them the reason for their actions they reminded me that we had only got the piece of ground on a 10 year Lease with the option to buy. But with all the other stuff that was ALWAYS going on I just plain forgot about it.Though I must admit we did try at different times to raise money from some very wealthy people but always came away with a flea in our ears. But the Buck stops with me, and I should have put more Trust in God , let Him work it out and just got on as best I Could with the task he had given to me.Please pray that He’ll make a way where there no way He could easily put it on someone’s heart here to buy the ground etc. and if you could pay it for us or maybe point me in the right direction to someone who might loan me the cash to buy the plot of ground, every penny will eventually be paid back. Really! I am not asking for a handout, Just enough to buy the piece of ground. It is only .22 of an acre, but we would also have to refence the ground again.I need about £40,000 and we would set up a special bank account that would pay you every month. I’m sorry if I have embarrassed you but I guess that I’m clutching at straws. Somebody has to try and help the kids here and I feel the job was given to me. Thanks again for your time and if I might ask again, PLEASE x2 pray for my daughter. God Bless you and prosper you and give you all great success in your Work. David Glass.

    Tel. home 02890861046 mob. 07950360330

    • Pastor David,

      Unfortunately I have no money that I can give but I am sincerely praying for you and all that were mentioned in your note. The situations you are facing are beyond anything I can imagine. I really don’t know what to say other than I am praying for you.

      Blessings,
      Brian

Leave a Reply

