16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat

Secretariat is AMAZING!  Randall Wallace has given us a great gift in the creation of this film.  I cannot recommend it enough for your entire family.

The following are the leadership quotes and principles from the movie.

  1. Our Lives Are One Phone Call Away From Changing Forever.  Penny Chenery, played by Diane Lane, receives a phone call in the opening scene notifying her that her mother has passed.  This begins the series of events that resulted in Secretariat becoming the greatest racehorse of all time.  I have had several instances this year where my life was propelled in another direction simply as a result of an unexpected phone call so this principle hits close to home.
  2. “It’s not whether they think we won.  It’s whether we think we won.” – Penny’s father Chris Chenery
  3. “Great colts come from great sires.” Fathers, we are not horses obviously, but can you see the application?
  4. Talent is Often Uniquely Packaged.  Lucien Laurin, played by the incredible John Malkovich, is eccentric in wardrobe and personality to say the least.  Be careful about making judgements based upon external appearances.
  5. “I got what I wanted.” – Penny Chenery referring to acquiring Secretariat in a coin flip followed by her brother Hollis’s statement “You got what no one else wanted.”
  6. Always Trust A Woman’s Intuition.  Penny received no support from either her husband or brother.  It is one of the truths of this life that God gives women a sixth sense regarding life’s issues.  Husbands, trust your wives’ insights.
  7. “Let him run his race.”  Good words for us as leaders.
  8. “He’s (Secretariat) slower than a fat man encased in concrete being drug backwards.” – Laurin
  9. “The owner hates the attention but the horse loves it.”  Do you have anyone on your team like that.  If so, that is not necessarily a bad thing.
  10. “My father’s legacy is not his money.  My father’s legacy is the will to win.”
  11. You never know how far you can go unless you run.”
  12. I will not live the rest of my life in regret.” – Chenery
  13. “One loss can happen.  Two is non-performance.” – Chenery’s primary financial backer Ogden Phillips played by James Cromwell.
  14. “I told her I’m taller when I stand on my wallet.” – Jockey Ronnie Turcotte when referring to his tall, blonde date for the evening.
  15. I’ve run my race.  You run your’s.” – Chenery speaking to Secretariat the evening before the Belmont Stakes.
  16. Let him run Ronnie!  Let him run!” – Chenery as Secretariat was going down the backstretch at the Belmont.

After watching the movie, and I suggest you check it out as well, I’ve thought a lot about those final words from Penny Chenery.  Leaders, RUN…JUST RUN.  And to those who serve on your teams, Let Them Run.  Let Them Run.

As a special gift to you, click here for a very unique interview between Tony Morgan and director Randall Wallace.

To automatically receive future posts on leadership, simply subscribe or click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

42 Responses to “16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat”

  1. Just saw this movie last night, it was excellent. This is a great list of material from the film, thanks Brian…

  2. Very informative blog. Awesome.

  3. Sup! Incredible article! Now i’m a regular visitor (a bit more like addict :P) of your website.

  4. This really is such a fantastic useful resource that you’re providing and also you give it absent free of charge. I adore seeing web sites that understand the value of offering a top quality useful resource for free. It?s the outdated what goes about comes about routine.

  5. ADHumlen 16 #Leadership Principles Quotes From #Secretariat: RT @BrianKDodd http://wp.me/pVReH-us #hr #management #mindful

  6. TY for the great post! I would not have discovered this otherwise!

  7. Every time I see a really good article I do a few things:1.Share it with all the relevant friends.2.save it in all of the favorite social sharing sites.3.Make sure to return to the blog where I read the post.After reading this post I am seriously concidering doing all 3!

  8. Thumbs up for this great post!!!

  9. Luckily, your writing goes to the essence of the topic. Your clarity leaves me wanting to know more. Just so you know, i will immediately grab your feed to keep up to date with your online blog. Alleging thanks is simply my little way of saying great job for a special resource. Take On my nicest wishes for your future post.

  10. Great post. I found what I was looking for. Do you mind if I post this on my website and give you credit? If not, it’s ok.

  11. Contrary to some sentiments, good researched articles still bring in readers like me. You presented complete understanding of the matter matter and my opinions are now complete after reading your post. Please hold up the authentic work and i will subscribe to your rss feed to be advised of any potential postings.

  12. Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing …

  13. This is a really good blog. Thanks for the info.

  14. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in the Feature also.

  15. Thanks for creating this. I really feel as though I know so much more about the topic than I did before. You should continue this, Im sure most people would agree youve got a gift.

  16. I just added this weblog to my rss reader, excellent stuff. Cannot get enough!

  17. DrJasonJones Love these 16 #Leadership Principles and #Quotes From #Secretariat: http://wp.me/pVReH-us via @BrianKDodd.

  18. This is how to end being burdened and live your life.

  19. LaurianaZ 16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat by @BrianKDodd http://dld.bz/3dA5 #fb #management >Must read

  20. You might also gather useful information from reports created by mere mortals.

  21. whtdeysay RT @briankdodd 16 Leadership Principles and #Quotes From #Secretariat http://wp.me/pVReH-us #movies #God #Jesus #church #pastors #wome…

  22. I usually don’t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful …

  23. I referenced this article on my recent blogpost.
    http://onachickenwingandaprayer.blogspot.com/2010/10/winners-circle-of-life.html
    Thank you again for the excellent article.

  24. Loved the movie and this blog post. You got it all right! Thanks for running your race!

  25. Thank you for the kind words and the Trackback. Feel free to keep commenting on any other posts as well. Thanks again, Brian

  26. LeeAnn,

    Thank you for the kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and hope to hear form you again.

    Brian

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat « POSITIVE POWER AND BEYOND - 04/22/2011

    […] 10/09/2010 by Brian Dodd on Leadership 41 Comments […]

  2. Weekly Webinar Guest: LeeAnn Jackson & Secretariat | HowToGetGoing - 10/22/2010

    […] I ran across a post on a blog published by Brian Dodd. In it, Brian has put together “16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat” and I think it is worth your while to […]

  3. Lessons from the Movie Secretariat – “It’s not whether they think we won. It’s whether we think we won” « Kitchener Waterloo Real Estate News - 10/14/2010

    […] http://briandoddonleadership.com/2010/10/09/16-leadership-principles-and-quotes-from-secretariat/ […]

  4. World Wide News Flash - 10/10/2010

    16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  5. Tweets that mention 16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat « Brian Dodd On Leadership -- Topsy.com - 10/09/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brian Dodd, Brian Dodd. Brian Dodd said: 16 Leadership Principles and Quotes From Secretariat: http://wp.me/pVReH-us […]

Leave a comment