Maybe The Best Definition Of Leadership I’ve Ever Heard

How would you define the word “leadership”?  The most famous definition is from John Maxwell who says “Leadership is influence”.  John, of course, is right.

However, today my pastor Crawford Loritts gave a definition that made me stop in my tracks.  Crawford gave this statement – The Heavy Responsibility Of Leadership Is That It Is A Destination Others Wish To Arrive.

I have been thinking about those words all day.  When I look at the lives of other leaders, do I want to end up where they are?  Let’s internalize it – as a leader, does your team members want to end up where you are?  This is literally changing how I view the subject of leadership.

Would others want to arrive where you are using this baker’s dozen of leadership as a barometer:

  1. Compensation and Benefits.  There is little doubt that most people on your team would want to arrive where you are in this area.  However, what they must ask is are they willing to pay the price that you paid to get there?
  2. Competence.  Are you an expert in your craft?  If not, are you becoming one?
  3. Character.  Does your life reflect the core values your company most likely proudly displays?
  4. Confidence.  This comes from previous accomplishments, not from current circumstances.
  5. Courage.  Are you decisive and can you make difficult decisions?
  6. Creativity.  Can you find solutions where there are no obvious answers exist?  A follow-up question would be do you produce?  Creativity without creation/production is simply brainstorming.
  7. Influence.  Do others follow you?
  8. Respect.  Do others admire you as a person?  This speaks to something beyond your accomplishments.
  9. Relational Intelligence.  Do you have people skills?  Do people enjoy being around you?
  10. Quality of Family Life.  Do I want to arrive at a leadership destination that requires me losing my family?  No.
  11. Generosity.  Do people see you as a person with an open hand or a closed fist?
  12. Peace.  Do you provide your team a sense of security.  Do you trust your preparation or are you driven by knee-jerk reactions?   
  13. Spiritual Maturity.  Do you have your priorities right?  While you want to maximize and be a great steward of everything you have been entrusted with, does your life reflect that you are focused on eternity?  Do you trust and love God more than anything?

Let me give you one more – Trust.  Have you made wise and timely decisions over an extended period of time?

Leaders, let me ask you to comment on this fundamental question – Do those on your team wish to arrive at where you are at in the 14 areas mentioned?  This post will challenge me for months.

To automatically receive future posts on leadership, simply subscribe or click here.

About Brian Dodd on Leadership

I am a church stewardship and leadership consultant for INJOY Stewardship Solutions. This blog combines my personal passions of church, sports, pop culture and family into a single leadership resource. I trust your time on this site will create conversations and add value to your life.

12 Responses to “Maybe The Best Definition Of Leadership I’ve Ever Heard”

  1. Very nice information here. Going to bookmark it!

  2. Looking at some of your blogposts I actually found this particular one to be wonderful. I’ve a blogging site also and would love to repost some snips of your respective content in my blog. Should it be okay if I do this so long I reference your web blog or build a back link to your post I procured the snip from? Otherwise I am aware of and would not do it without your agreement . I have book marked this valuable post to twitter in addition to facebook accounts for reference. Anyway thanks either way!

  3. I appreciate the comments on this blog, it really gives it that community sense!

  4. I dont know what to say. This blog is fantastic. Thats not really a really huge statement, but its all I could come up with after reading this. You know so much about this subject. So much so that you made me want to learn more about it. Your blog is my stepping stone, my friend. Thanks for the heads up on this subject. Legos for girls

  5. Just simply wanted to mention I genuinely respect your work on this blog site and the top quality posts you make. These type of posting are what keeps me going through the day time. I uncovered this post right after a great close friend of my very own suggested it to me. I do a little blogging and site-building myself personally and I am always pleased to observe others contributing top quality data to the online community. I most certainly will absolutely be following and now have saved your website to my facebook account for others to look at.

    • Ronald,

      Thank you for your kind words and the promotion of this site. I am thrilled they add value to your day. I look forward to hearing about your thoughts on future post. Also, give my thanks to your friend for recommending this site.

      Brian

  6. Now examine that in the matter of.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Maybe The Best Definition Of Leadership I’ve Ever Heard « Brian Dodd On Leadership -- Topsy.com - 10/14/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Brian Dodd, Brian Dodd. Brian Dodd said: Maybe The Best Definition Of Leadership I've Ever Heard: http://wp.me/pVReH-uR […]

Leave a comment